Give Us Feedback!

A Classic Celebration – for Australian Parliament House

Saturday 5 May, 2018
Great Hall, Parliament House, Parliament Dr, Canberra ACT 2600, 2.00pm

Barbara Jane Gilby, Philippa Thompson Violin
Lucy Carrigy-Ryan Viola
Patrick Suthers Cello
Teresa Rabe Flute
Megan Pampling Oboe
Eloise Fisher Clarinet
Kristen Sutcliffe Bassoon
Dianna Gaetjens French Horn
Katherine Day Piano

GRAEME KOEHNE: Whirling Dance from String Quartet No. 2
PAUL PAVIOUR: Frank Gardiner and Friends; Four Australian Folksongs for Wind Quintet
IAN MUNRO: Drover’s Lament from Clarinet Quintet
ELENA KATS-CHERNIN: Calliope Dreaming, for Piano Trio
ALFRED HILL: The Carnival: In the Streets from String Quartet No. 3
PERCY GRAINGER: “My Robin is to the Greenwood Gone,” for Piano Trio
ROSS EDWARDS: Maninya III, for Wind Quintet
SALLY GREENAWAY: Don’t forget your music! for Flute, Clarinet, String Quartet, and Piano*
* World premiere performance

Join us for a free concert as part of the all-day celebrations as the Australian Parliament House marks its 30th anniversary.

In this special concert event, an ensemble from the Canberra Symphony Orchestra will perform a selection of Australian music that spans more than a century and reflects the depth and diversity of Australian composers.

The ensemble will perform works by noted Australian composers including Percy Grainger, Alfred Hill and Elena Kats-Chernin.  The concert will include music by Dr Paul Paviour, who composed the score for the official opening of Parliament House in 1988.

The program features a mix of Australian composers representing our diverse nation; men and women, young and old, Australians born here and overseas. The pieces were written between 1912 and 2016, and include a world premiere by Canberra composer Sally Greenaway.  Ten musicians from the Canberra Symphony Orchestra will form various groups throughout the concert, bringing forth a range of tonal colours and musical moods.

For more information visit the APH Website