Give Us Feedback!

ActewAGL Llewellyn Four

Wednesday 5 September, 2018
Llewellyn Hall, ANU, 7.30pm

Nicholas Milton AM Conductor
Artistic patronage ActewAGL
Nick Russoniello Saxophone

Read more about each performer by clicking on their name.

COPLAND: Fanfare for the Common Man
DEBUSSY: Rhapsody for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra
MILHAUD: Scaramouche: Suite for saxophone
and orchestra, op. 165c
RAVEL: Bolero
BERLIOZ: Symphonie fantastique, op. 14

Pre-concert talk 6.45pm

Celebrating the 100th anniversary year of the death of Claude Debussy, this concert is a feast of music including some of the most extraordinary and influential French works in the orchestral repertoire. Debussy’s proficiency in achieving exotic timbres within the orchestra is used with great effect in his Rhapsody; weaving gorgeous sound fabrics, saxophone soloist Nick Russoniello will entrance you with his artistry. The relentless, hypnotic siren call of Ravel’s Boléro unfolds with increasingly rich combinations of orchestral colour until it reaches its electrifying climax. The evening concludes with Hector Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, a psychedelic, opium-induced dream of morbid fantasies, unrequited love and a dance with the devil. It’s an epic orchestral fantasy that forever changed the landscape of symphonic music.