Give Us Feedback!

ActewAGL Llewellyn One

Thursday 22 February, 2018
Llewellyn Hall, ANU, 7.30pm

Dane Lam Conductor
Tamara-Anna Cislowska Piano
CARL VINE: Microsymphony
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, op. 16
KATS-CHERNIN: Alexander Rag
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, op. 70

Pre-concert talk 6.45pm

The opening concert of the 2018 ActewAGL Llewellyn Series welcomes rising Australian guest conductor Dane Lam and presents a stimulating program of orchestral masterworks. Carl Vine’s terse and dynamic Microsymphony provides a vibrant reflection on transformation. The sensational Piano Concerto No. 2 by Prokofiev is a hair-raising, adrenalin-fueled work, which acclaimed soloist Tamara-Anna Cislowska will conquer with mastery. Commissioned by the Soviet state to commemorate victory over Germany, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9 is the antithesis of the anticipated majestic ode to military triumph—it expresses sardonic humour and irony rather than heroism. This perfect classical symphony is a playful and lively work loved by musicians and audiences alike.