Give Us Feedback!

Llewellyn Four: Russian Masters

Thursday 5 November, 2020
Llewellyn Hall, 7.30pm

Unfortunately, this event has been cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Ticket holders have been contacted directly by the CSO with information about how to make a tax-deductible donation or request a refund.

Our 2021 season goes on sale in mid-October – subscribe to Notations newsletter for updates!

Stay in the loop

Nicholas Milton AM Conductor

Umberto Clerici Cello, 2020 Artist in Focus

Pre-concert talk 6.45pm

Matthew HINDSON LiteSPEED (1997)
SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No. 1, op. 107
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4 in F minor, op. 36

Nicholas Milton leads the orchestra in two of classical music’s most personal statements, in the Canberra Symphony Orchestra’s final Llewellyn concert for the year.

The concert opens with the relentless energy of Australian composer Matthew Hindson.

The CSO’s 2020 Artist in Focus Umberto Clerici joins the orchestra for Dmitri Shostakovich’s spiky First Cello Concerto, written for his close friend, the legendary cellist Mstislav Rostropovich. One of the most challenging works in the cello repertoire, it is shot through with Shostakovich’s coded musical signature, DSCH.

Just as personal is Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony, in which the opening brass fanfare — representing fate — is the key to the whole work. “None of my earlier works for orchestra have given me so much trouble, but on none have I lavished such love and devotion,” Tchaikovsky wrote. “In my heart of hearts I feel sure it is the best thing I have done so far.”