Give Us Feedback!

Love, Kindness, Decency

Thursday 12 March, 2020
Gordon Darling Hall, National Portrait Gallery, 6.30pm

CSO Chamber Orchestra
Kirsten Williams Director

Rachel BRUERVILLE Dancing on Tiptoes (2017)
Stuart GREENBAUM The Rotation of the Earth (2017)
Natalie NICOLAS We Won’t Let You Down (2017)
Cyrus MEURANT New work for violin and strings (2020) Ars Musica Australis commission
Peter SCULTHORPE AO OBE Third Sonata for Strings (2011), Mvt. 2 Jabiru Dreaming
Ella MACENS Superimposition for strings (2015) World premiere
Paul STANHOPE Nephesh (2015) for string nonet

Led by our effervescent concertmaster Kirsten Williams, the first concert in the Canberra Symphony Orchestra’s Australian Series, curated by Matthew Hindson, sees the CSO strings present Australia’s young stars alongside established voices, from the world premiere of Ella Macens’ Superimposition to performances of Paul Stanhope’s Nephesh and the second movement of Peter Sculthorpe’s Third Sonata for Strings, the composer’s own orchestration of his 11th string quartet Jabiru Dreaming.

Alongside these works, Love, Kindness, Decency will feature three pieces written in 2017 inspired by the incredible healing power of music: Rachel Bruerville’s Dancing on Tiptoes, Stuart Greenbaum’s The Rotation of the Earth and Natalie Nicolas’ We Won’t Let You Down. These were all commissioned by the HUSH Foundation, which creates calming music for children’s hospitals and other stressful environments.

At the heart of this concert is a new commission for the Canberra Symphony Orchestra from Cyrus Meurant, with Kirsten Williams as soloist.