Give Us Feedback!

Reimagined Winds

Sunday 17 October, 2021
Albert Hall, 2pm / 4.30pm

CSO Chamber Players

Arrangements for wind quintet
Gioachino ROSSINI Overture from The Barber of Seville
Percy GRAINGER Molly on the Shore
Joseph HAYDN Divertimento No. 1
Paul DUKAS The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Dmitri SHOSTAKOVICH Waltz No. 2, Tahiti Trot

Due to the current COVID-19 circumstances in the ACT, the CSO has made the difficult decision to cancel this concert.

Ticket holders have been contacted directly about refunds and tax-deductible donations.

More info

french horn

This final concert in our inaugural Chamber Classics Series comprises beloved works by Rossini, Grainger, Haydn, Dukas and Shostakovich. Each piece is arranged for wind quintet, a versatile ensemble capable of both flamboyant extroversion and delicate sensitivity.

Highlights of the program include the overture from The Barber of Seville, one of Rossini’s numerous, well-loved operas, and Dukas’ feverish Sorcerer’s Apprentice. For many, the latter has become inextricably associated with Walt Disney’s iconic Fantasia – fortunately, our musicians possess agility and virtuosity well beyond the hapless Mickey Mouse. In this arrangement, the quintet does the work of a full orchestra in conjuring up the rich sound world: ethereal and mysterious, punctuated by frenzied musical outbursts and building to a dramatic climax.

This program also features reimaginings of two popular works by Shostakovich, the slinky Waltz No. 2 and the contrastingly cheeky Tahiti Trot. The latter is, itself, a reimagining of Tea for Two from the 1925 musical comedy No, No, Nanette. Legend has it that Shostakovich produced the Tahiti Trot in under an hour.