Give Us Feedback!


Thursday 30 August, 2018
Gordon Darling Hall, NPG, 6.30-7.30pm

Presented by Singapore Airlines

So Fine: Contemporary women artists make Australian history

Julian Smiles Cello
CSO 2018 Artist-in-Focus
Bernadette Harvey Piano

MIRIAM HYDE: Sonata in B minor for viola and piano arranged for cello and piano (1937)
DON BANKS: Sequence for solo cello (1967)
ELLA MACENS: Oh, Sister for cello and piano (2016–17)
LEANNE BEAR: New work (new commission 2018)
CARL VINE: Strutt Sonata for cello and piano (2017)

Considering tradition is fundamental for composers when they create new pieces of classical music; just as it is for contemporary visual artists. In this concert for cello and piano, contemporary composers respond with three new and very recent works to historically important pieces of Australian music for these instruments. This concert includes a new arrangement of a work written in 1937 by the pioneering composer Miriam Hyde, who never received the attention she deserved, as well as a newly commissioned work by Canberra composer Leanne Bear.

Image Caption: Black Seeds 2017, by Carol McGregor, possum skins, cotton, ochre, ash and resin, Redland Art Gallery Collection, acquired in 2017 with Redland Art gallery Acquisition Fund.