Give Us Feedback!

ActewAGL Llewellyn Series: Tchaikovsky

Wednesday 2 November, 2016
Llewellyn Hall, ANU, 7:30pm

Pre concert talk 6.45pm

Nicholas Milton Conductor
Artistic patronage ActewAGL
Kristian Chong Piano

NIGEL WESTLAKE Shimmering Blue
RACHMANINOV Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No 4 in F minor

In one of his more colourful orchestral works our composer-in-residence, Nigel Westlake, will surprise you with his versatility and intriguing harmonic juxtapositions in this concert’s opening piece, Shimmering Blue. To follow, you will experience the brilliance and vitality of Rachmaninov’s writing for piano and orchestra—Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini—one of his most exhilarating works.
In the 18th Variation, based on the inspired Caprice No. 24 for solo violin, the fiery and charismatic Italian virtuoso has manipulated the memorable Paganini theme into one of the piano repertoire’s most poetic creations. This stunning variation is beloved from countless films and featured in arrangements for every instrument from piccolo to tuba. Our 2016 season concludes with the powerful emotional impact of Tchaikovsky’s profoundly moving fourth symphony—a semi-autobiographical work that deals with the extraordinary life of this tortured composer. Despite the miserable reality of his impossible situation, Tchaikovsky wrote: “… if within yourself you find no reasons for joy, then look at others.”
“…Joy is simple, but powerful. Rejoice in the rejoicing of others. To live is still possible.” A more inspiring conclusion to our Llewellyn Series is hard to imagine.

To add this concert to your 2016 subscription, please call CSO Direct 6262 6772.