Give Us Feedback!


Thursday 9 November, 2017
Llewellyn Hall, ANU, 7.30pm

Conductor Nicholas Milton AM
Artistic patronage ActewAGL
Violin Harry Bennetts

GLINKA Overture to Ruslan and Lyudmila
TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto in D major, op.35
SIBELIUS Symphony No.2 in D major, op.43

Pre-concert talk 6.45pm

The grand finale of the 2017 ActewAGL Llewellyn Series is a triumphant celebration, beginning with the boisterous and rousing Overture to Ruslan and Lyudmila by the father of Russian classical music, Mikhail Glinka. Following this earthy exuberance comes the lyrical beauty of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, a creation born of despair and inspired by illicit love. Tchaikovsky dedicated this monumental work to the great violinist Leopold Auer, only for him to dismiss the concerto as unplayable. Soloist Harry Bennetts will put this to the test! The 2017 season concludes with the evocative Symphony No.2 in D major by Finnish composer Jean Sibelius, a work as daring and optimistic as it is beloved by audiences since its premiere in 1902. Popularly dubbed ‘the symphony of independenceʼ, Sibelius described the work as a “confession of the soul”, which encompasses pastoral sunshine and icy winds, anguished protests and triumphant resolution.

“If I could express the same thing with words as with music, I would, of course, use a verbal expression. Music is something autonomous and much richer. That is why I write music.”