Give Us Feedback!


Thursday 7 April, 2022
Atrium, National Museum of Australia, Acton, 6.30pm

Carlo Antonioli Conductor

CSO Chamber Ensemble:
Kirsten Williams Violin
Sponsored by Glen & Lucille Halloran
Doreen Cumming Violin
Lucy Carrigy-Ryan Viola
Sponsored by OPF Consulting
Patrick Suthers Cello
Kiri Sollis Flute
Rachel Best Allen Clarinet
Veronica Bailey Percussion
Edward Neeman Piano
The Keyboard chair is supported by the Eldon and Anne Foote Trust, a charitable fund account of Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation

Richard Meale AM, MBE Coruscations

Connor D’Netto String Quartet No. 2 in E minor

Christopher Sainsbury In the beginning, fun
World premiere, new CSO commission

Brenda Gifford Mungala (Clouds)

Nardi Simpson Of Stars and Birds

Jakub Jankowski To the Waters Above
World premiere, CSO commission

Adult $54–60
Concession $49–55
Under 30 $30
Student rush $15

Book any two 2022 concerts together to enjoy subscriber benefit: save up to 25 per cent across the season and enjoy two flexible ticket swaps. Learn more

The concert will be followed by an after hours viewing of the Ancient Greeks exhibition.

Millennia before telescopes and space travel, we gazed up at the night sky with great awe and curiosity. Early stargazers followed the trajectories of celestial objects, weaving this intricate knowledge into systems of navigation and telling time. For generations, stars and planets have also held deep symbolic significance in storytelling, philosophy and community life.

The striking majesty of the night sky is reflected in Richard Meale’s Coruscations, meaning sudden flashes of light or a display of brilliance. Meale borrows from French composer Pierre Boulez to construct a dynamic soundscape underpinned by a rigorous harmonic logic. Connor D’Netto’s String Quartet No. 2 is similarly mathematical, mirroring the poetic rhythm and rationality of the heavens.

Astronomy has an important place in the traditions of hundreds of First Nations peoples, deeply embedded in stories of the Dreaming. Nardi Simpson’s Of Stars and Birds is inspired by the Yuwaalaraay story of a constellation that resembles two cockatoos roosting in the branches of a tree, which many now call the Southern Cross. Brenda Gifford draws us deeper into the rich connection between Earth and sky with Mungala, meaning ‘clouds’ in the Dhurga language of the Yuin people.

The night sky has long been a map of identity, a means of knowing and wayfinding. Our perspective shifts and broadens as we gaze upwards and outwards. This program includes two new responses to the ancient canvas above us, from composers Christopher Sainsbury and Jakub Jankowski.

Cultural Partner: National Museum of Australia

National Museum of Australia logo



When to arrive
Doors to the venue will open at 6.15pm. Please show your tickets on entry for contactless checking. If you have not received your tickets due to postage delays, CSO ticketing staff will be able to tick your name off the list.

Box Office
The Box Office will be open from 6pm outside the venue for ticket sales and collection. If possible, please book tickets in advance via the links above, or over the phone with CSO Direct (02 6262 6772, weekdays 10am – 3pm). Ticket sales at the door will be card only (no cash).

Free cloaking is available at the Information Desk.

Free after hours parking is available onsite. Limited accessible parking is available near the main entrance.

The concert will run for approximately one to 1.5 hours without interval.

Concert programs
Program notes for this concert are included in edition five of rest, the CSO magazine. Complimentary copies will be available on arrival (no program voucher required). Patrons who collected a copy at French Connections (13 Feb) are encouraged to bring it along to conserve resources. Program notes are also available online at


Part of the CSO’s 2022 Australian Series

Classical music is a living, breathing art form, just as potent and expressive today as in centuries past. We invite you to hear and see differently, to engage with diverse voices and to wrestle with the complexity and beauty of modern existence – through music.

Also in this series:

Australian Series: Collective Memory (28 July 2022)
Australian Series: Hearing the Land (1 September 2022)

All CSO events are delivered in line with ACT Government COVID-safe requirements. Read more