Give Us Feedback!


Thursday 31 October, 2019
Gordon Darling Hall, National Portrait Gallery, 6.30pm

Diana Doherty Soloist
2019 Artist in Focus

Zephira Quintet
Teresa Rabe Flute
Megan Pampling Oboe
Eloise Fisher Clarinet
Kristen Sutcliffe Bassoon
Dianna Gaetjens French Horn

Matthew Hindson AM Curator

ROSS EDWARDS AM Water Spirit Song (2003)
CYRUS MEURANT Monuments (2016)
DEBORAH CHEETHAM AO New CSO commission (2019)
ROSS EDWARDS AM Incantations (1985)
ELIZABETH YOUNAN New CSO commission (2019)

The Canberra Symphony Orchestra’s incredible Artist in Focus, oboist Diana Doherty, takes centre stage in Renewal alongside the Zephira Quintet in this year’s second Australian Series concert at the National Portrait Gallery. A long-time collaborator with Doherty, Ross Edwards is one of Australia’s best-loved composers, his vibrant, ecstatic music drawing inspiration from
the sounds of the natural environment and the spiritual world.

Renewal will see Edwards’ atmospheric Water Spirit Song frame a concert featuring his wind quintet Incantations as well as the world premieres of two brand new CSO commissions—by Indigenous composer and opera singer Deborah Cheetham and young Australian composer Elizabeth Younan—as well as Cyrus Meurant’s 2016 Monuments for solo oboe and musical drones. Led by Doherty, this concert will showcase the finest new wind music Australia has to offer, culminating in a performance for oboe and the sound of waterfalls played through audience smartphones.

For virtuosos of a different kind, explore the inaugural Darling Portrait Prize exhibition after the concert. The Portrait Gallery’s first prize encouraging the best in portrait painting.